2020 Award Nominees

Congratulations to all the nominees for the 2020 Businesswomen of the Year Awards and the Judy Heffernan Award!

2020 Businesswomen of the Year Awards nominees are:

Entrepreneur Category

Amelia Valenti, Owner, Innovative Life Designs

Angela Jones, Owner & Principal Designer, Lakeshore Designs

Christine Teixeira, Owner, Accountability Financial

Karen Auger, Partner, BDO Canada LLP

Margaret Burley, Owner, Burley’s Gardens and Suite

Mary McGillis, Owner, Celtic Connection

Maureen Tavener, Sales Representative, Re/Max Eastern Realty Inc. Brokerage

Peggy Shaughnessy, President, Whitepath Consulting 

Rhonda Barnet, President & COO, AVIT Manufacturing

Shelby Leonard-Watt, Owner & Operator, Save Our Soles 

Sofie Andreou, Owner, 123 Digital Power by Sofie Andreou 


Organization Category

Anne Driscoll, Fundraising & Community Outreach Coordinator, MS Society

Carol Lawless, Fund Development Coordinator, New Canadians Centre Peterborough

Dawn Hennessey, Business Centre Manager, BDC Peterborough

Gail Moorhouse, Executive Director, Community Futures Peterborough

Joëlle Favreau, Nourish Manager, YWCA Peterborough Haliburton / Nourish Project

Julia Anderson, Chief Operating Officer, Canadian Partnership for Women and Children’s Health

Julie Howe, Sales & Marketing Manager, Nexicom Inc.

Katie Young-Haddlesey, Manager of Economic Development, Curve Lake First Nation

Sandra Dueck, Policy Analyst & Communication Specialist, Greater Peterborough Chamber of Commerce

Sarah Handy, Quality Manager, Central Smith Ice Cream

Rose Terry, Marketing Manager & Senior Innovation Specialist, Innovation Cluster


Judy Heffernan Award nominees are:

Abeer AlSalihi, Settlement Worker in Schools, New Canadians Centre Peterborough and Northumberland

Cora Whittington, Owner, Golden Pathways B&B and Coach Cora Leadership Coaching

Denise Vallee, Region Sales Coach, The Co-operators

Diane Wolf, Owner, Diane Wolf Counselling

Heather Doughty, Photographer & Founder of Inspire Women Project, Heather Doughty Photography

Jeannine Taylor, Founder, CEO, and Publisher, kawarthaNOW.com 

Lesley Robb, Owner, Swell Made Co. & Swell Made Design

Lisa Howie, President, Ellwood Hamilton Bus Lines

Peggy Shaughnessy, President, Whitepath Consulting

Rose Terry, Marketing Manager & Senior Innovation Specialist, Innovation Cluster

Find out which woman will be named the award recipient in each category at the upcoming dinner and presentation ceremony at Peterborough Golf and Country Club on Thursday, April 23, 2020.  This honour has recognized the accomplishments of outstanding women in the City and County of Peterborough since 2003.


  • For general tickets, click here
  • If you’re an award nominee and/or WBN member, click here to purchase your member-priced ticket.
  • A table of 8 can be purchased for a discounted price of $75 per seat.